Laken Kendrick and Chase Trebar Won Waterborne Poster Awards


Laken Kendrick and Chase Tretbar, both senior undergraduate students in the Patton Research Group, won poster awards at the 2015 Waterborne Symposium.
1st Place: Laken Kendrick, Brian Donovan, Jared Cobb, Ethan Hoff, and Derek Patton. "Design of Biomimetic Adhesives using Thiol-ene Photopolymerization"
2nd Place: Chase Tretbar, Emily Hoff, Brooks Abel, Charles McCormick, and Derek Patton "Synthesis of Hydrazide Functional Polymers by RAFT Polymerization"



Posted on February 12, 2015 .

Dahlia Amato Named Finalist for Prestigious Soros Fellowship


Dahlia Amato, a second-year doctoral student in the Patton Research Group, was selected as a finalist for one of the prestigious Paul & Daisy Soros Fellowships for New Americans.  Dahlia is the first Soros finalist selected from the University of Southern Mississippi.  She is one of only 77 applicants chosen as finalists from approximately 1,200 applicants nationwide.
[Read More]

Posted on January 20, 2015 .

Dahlia Amato wins ACS Science Coaches Award


Dahlia Amato, a second year graduate student in the Patton Research Group, was accepted into the ACS Science Coaches program for the 2014-2015 school year.  Dahlia was 1 of only 200 applicants selected for chemist-teacher partnerships to enhance science classrooms in fun and engaging ways.  Dahlia’s award provides $500 to Petal High School, where she works closely with Krystin Holmes as a NSF GK-12 Fellow.

About ACS Science Coaches: ACS Science Coaches are chemistry professionals who share their expertise and enthusiasm for science with an elementary, middle, or high school teacher over the course of one school year.

Posted on October 1, 2014 .